

Consumer and Small Employer Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes

> date: Monday, December 2, 2013

building: MNsure Office, 81 East 7th Street, Suite 300 St. Paul, MN 55101-2211

> time: 3:30 - 5:30 p.m.

> members in attendance: Tom Lopez, Jin Johnson, Joan Carchedi, Michael Jones, James McClean, Luis Ortega, Anna Odegaard, Val Jensen, Julia Johnson, Claudette Moran, Kathryn Duevel (Board Liaison)

> members unable to attend: Richard Oni, Hussein Sheikh, Tamara Ward, Patrick Lochwood, Jen Daulman Johnson, Jama Mohamod, Tiffany Breitkreutz

topics

Welcome and Code of Conduct Kathryn Duevel, Board Liaison The meeting was called to order at 3:35 p.m. by Kathryn Duevel, board liaison to the Consumer and Small Employer Advisory Committee.

Kathryn walked through the Advisory Committee Code of Conduct.

The Code of Conduct states "Members shall inform the Advisory Committee Chair *or Co-chair* by email or phone if they will be tardy or absent from a meeting," however, Anna Odegaard, chair, requested that members just contact her.

Future committee meetings will likely be monthly, however, the schedule may need to be adjusted at times to meet the needs of the board.

Anna proposed this committee either watch a short video or run a meeting under Robert's Rule of Order and decide afterward if the group would like to use this process going forward.

Anna will post the video for committee members to watch on their own time. This will be added to the next agenda for discussion.

Approval of Nov. 19, 2013 meeting minutes Anna Odegaard, Chair The November 19 meeting minutes were reviewed and approved.

Explanation of Draft Recommendations Anna Odegaard, Chair Anna took the committee members' recommendations on active purchaser from the November 19 meeting and compiled them into one document. She walked through this draft recommendation to the board and explained how the six recommendations from the committee became four. Note: one recommendation had to be removed, as it contradicted federal regulation.

Group discussion: Each member shared their thoughts on the draft recommendations.

Draft

Recommendations

Committee members

Future meeting details and wrapThe meeting adjourned at 5:40 p.m.

Anna Odegaard, Chair