skip to content
Primary navigation

Past Committees

Advisory Task Force

The MNsure Advisory Task Force has finalized its work plan and is no longer meeting. The Task Force provided guidance on issues related to the development of a marketplace/exchange for Minnesota. It consisted of 15 members representing a balance of interests, including consumers, employers, labor, health care providers, health insurers, Medical Assistance (Medicaid), agents and those with experience navigating health plan enrollment, agents/brokers and experts in public and private health care markets and public health improvement.

The Advisory Task Force was created under authority granted in Minnesota Statutes section15.014 in September 2011 and worked in coordination with the Governor's Health Care Reform Task Force.


  • Commissioner James Schowalter, Minnesota Management and Budget (ex-officio/CHAIR)
  • Commissioner Ed Ehlinger, Minnesota Department of Health (ex-officio)
  • Commissioner Lucinda Jesson, Minnesota Department of Human Services (ex-officio)
  • Commissioner Carolyn Parnell, MN.IT Services (ex-officio)
  • Commissioner Mike Rothman, Minnesota Department of Commerce (ex-officio)
  • Sue Abderholden, Executive Director of the Minnesota Alliance on Mental Illness (St. Paul)
  • Representative Joe Atkins, District 39B, Minnesota House of Representatives
  • Dannette Coleman, Vice President/General Manager, Individual and Family Business, Medica (Minnetonka)
  • Phillip Cryan, Health Policy Specialist and Organizing Director, SEIU (St. Paul)
  • Mary Foarde, Attorney,FriedemannFoarde Health Care Law (Minneapolis)
  • Robert Hanlon, Founder and President of Corporate Health Systems (Chaska)
  • Representative Tom Huntley, District 7A, Minnesota House of Representatives
  • Alfred Babington-Johnson, CEO, Stairstep Foundation (Minneapolis)
  • Roger Kathol, Owner, Cartesian Solutions, Inc. (Burnsville)
  • Senator Tony Lourey, District 8, Minnesota State Senate
  • Phil Norrgard, Director of Human Services, Fond du Lac Indian Tribe (Cloquet)
  • Stephanie Radtke Deputy Director, Community Services Division, Dakota County (West St. Paul)
  • Senator Ann Rest, District 45, Minnesota State Senate
  • Daniel Schmidt, Vice President, Great River Office Products (St. Paul)
  • Stella Whitney-West, Chief Executive Officer, NorthPoint Health & Wellness Center (Minneapolis)

The Advisory Task Force also set up several Technical Work Groups which developed, discussed and provided technical assistance. One MNsure staff member and one stakeholder co-led each technical work group. All work groups have finalized their work plans and are no longer meeting.

Task Force & Technical Work Groups

Membership, work description, agendas and meeting materials.

back to top