skip to content
Primary navigation

News Releases

MNsure Board Members Reappointed; New Chair Elected

6/30/2023 11:00:00 AM


ST. PAUL, Minn. — Last week, Governor Tim Walz reappointed Stephanie Stoffel and Andrew Whitman to the /about-us/board-committees/board/members.jspMNsure Board of Directors.

Ms. Stoffel, whose new term runs from June 28, 2023, to May 5, 2027, represents the interests of small employers. Ms. Stoffel is a retired IT and business leader with many years of experience as an executive in the field, with expertise in guiding IT functions and technology innovation. Her community involvement includes having served on the board of directors for a number of nonprofits, including the United Way of Mankato.

Mr. Whitman, whose new term runs from June 28, 2023, to May 5, 2027, represents the interests of consumers eligible for individual market coverage. Mr. Whitman, an attorney, is currently a professor of insurance at the Carlson School of Management, an AARP & Prepare & Prosper IRS tax counselor, and a member of the Missions Inc. Programs Board of Directors. Previously, he served as the deputy commissioner and acting chief counsel for the Pennsylvania Insurance Department and as an insurance and risk management consultant to corporations and government entities.

“We are delighted that Ms. Stoffel and Mr. Whitman will continue their service on the MNsure Board of Directors,” said MNsure CEO Libby Caulum. “Since their initial appointments to the board in 2020, both Ms. Stoffel and Mr. Whitman have provided invaluable contributions during a global pandemic and helped MNsure make progress toward our goal of ensuring all Minnesotans have the security of health insurance.”

New board chair elected

On June 28, the board elected Ms. Stoffel to chair the MNsure Board of Directors, replacing Suyapa Miranda, who served in the role since June 2021. A Mankato resident, Ms. Stoffel most recently served as the vice president of technology at Scholarship America, where she led the organization’s efforts in technology development, planning, delivery, and security. 

“With experience as a technology executive, Ms. Stoffel is uniquely positioned to lead the MNsure board as the marketplace begins work to upgrade and modernize our technology platform,” added Ms. Caulum. “Her expertise and attention to detail will be vital to our efforts to improve the MNsure consumer experience and connect more Minnesotans with health insurance.” 

The board also elected David Fisher to serve as vice chair. Mr. Fisher, who represents health policy issues related to the small group and individual markets, has been a board member since June 2020. 

MNsure board members are appointed by the governor through the state's open appointments process and confirmed by the Minnesota Senate and House of Representatives. The commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Human Services is a standing member. Board members serve staggered four-year terms and are limited to two terms of service. All appointed members must have demonstrated that they do not have conflicts of interest. Additional information about the /about-us/board-committees/board/index.jspboard of directors is available on the MNsure website.

MNsure is Minnesota's health insurance marketplace where individuals and families can shop, compare and choose health insurance coverage that meets their needs. MNsure is the only place you can apply for financial help to lower the cost of your monthly insurance premium and out-of-pocket costs. Most Minnesotans who enroll through MNsure qualify for financial help.

back to top